Chief Arthur L. Weston Memorial Highway

State Representative John M. Cabello Celebrates the Designation of the “Chief Arthur L. Weston Memorial Highway”

Rockton, IL – State Representative John M. Cabello (R-Machesney Park) is pleased to announce the passage of House Joint Resolution 0042 through the House of Representatives, which designates the stretch of Illinois Route 75 from East Union Street to East River Street in Rockton as the “Chief Arthur L. Weston Memorial Highway.” This resolution honors the distinguished service and ultimate sacrifice of Chief Arthur L. Weston, a devoted public servant and revered community figure.

”Chief Weston’s heroic actions and dedication to public service continue to inspire us all,” said Rep. Cabello. “This memorial highway will serve as a lasting tribute to his legacy, reminding us of the courage and commitment required to keep our communities safe.”

The heroic actions referenced in the resolution occurred on October 27, 1977, when Chief Weston bravely and successfully apprehended a burglary suspect after a fierce confrontation. Tragically, he suffered fatal chest pains during the transporting of the suspect – maintaining dedication to the safety of our communities until his final moments.

Chief Weston’s impressive career in law enforcement spanned several roles, including serving as police chief for the Byron and Roscoe Police Departments, organizing the Rock Valley security force, and fulfilling duties as deputy coroner for Winnebago County. His commitment to public service was truly unwavering.

The designation of this highway commemorates both Chief Weston’s bravery and also serves as a symbol of gratitude from the community he protected with honor. State Representative Cabello remains committed to recognizing the sacrifices of Illinois’ heroic law enforcement officers.

The bill is now sent to the Senate where it is awaiting further legislative action.

For further details or inquiries, please contact Representative Cabello at 815-621-2196.

John M. Cabello is the Assistant Minority Leader and State Representative for Illinois’ 90th House District, which includes the following communities in Winnebago, Stephenson, and Boone counties: Rockford, Machesney Park, Freeport, Roscoe, Loves Park, Rockton, South Beloit, Caledonia, Durand, Rock City, and Rockton.